Malaysia Qualifying Round 16

Lewis Hamilton takes pole position ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg and Red Bulls Max Verstappen as Sergio Perez finally confirms that he will stay will Force India for 2017.


Perez confirms Force India 2017 drive

Today, Sergio Perez confirmed that he will be driving for Force India in 2017 alongside Nico Hulkenberg. Perez’s future has been up in the air for the past few months with Perez heavily linked to either Renault or Williams at one point. So far, Perez has a great year with his third-place finishes at Monaco and Baku.


Pascal Wehrlein is the first car out on track and sets the first lap time of a 1:36:999. With under 17 minutes to go, Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg both make their ways onto the track. Rosberg sets his first lap before Hamilton on a 1:34:460 before Hamilton makes his way and beats his team-mates time on a 1:34:444. Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen are next to set their laps on a 1:35:566 and a 1:35:903. Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo set their laps next on a 1:35:443 and a 1:33:079. With 3 minutes to go, the cars head out for their final laps in this session. Q1 ends with Hamilton fastest ahead of Rosberg and Raikkonen.

Out: Alonso – 22nd, Wehrlein – 21st, Ocon – 20th, Palmer – 19th, Nasr – 18th and Ericsson – 17th.


This time, Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton are the first two cars out on track . Rosberg comes round and its a 1:33:609. Hamilton is quickest throughout the lap and posts a 1:33:046. Wow, the benchmark has been risen! Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen posts their times of a 1:33:888 and a 1:33:775 while Kimi Raikkonen beats Sebastian Vettel on a 1:33:903 compared to a 1:33:972. The cars head out for their final laps with Jenson Button hoping to make the top 10 ahead of his 300th GP start. A great lap by Button puts himself into the top 10 and pushes Valterri Bottas into the drop-zone. Q2 ends with Hamilton ahead of Rosberg and Verstappen.

Out: Sainz – 16th, Kvyat – 15th, Magnussen – 14th, Gutierrez – 13th, Grosjean – 12th and Bottas – 11th.


Sergio Perez is the first car out on track and sets the benchmark time of a 1:35:173. Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen are next on a 1:33:916 and a 1:33:420. Kimi Raikkonen and Daniel Ricciardo follow on a 1:33:632 and a 1:33:526. Nico Rosberg comes round on a 1:33:761, its bad, he’s lost around half a second in the middle sector. Lewis Hamilton comes round and his lap times is into the 1:32:850. Is there anyway that time can be beat?

With 3 minutes to go, the cars head out for their final runs with Nico Rosberg out first. Rosberg improves to a 1:33:264 but its not enough to beat Lewis Hamilton’s time. Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg end up 7th and 8th with Jenson Button and Felipe Massa in 9th and 10th.

Top 10: Massa – 10th, Button – 9th, Hulkenberg – 8th, Perez – 7th, Raikkonen – 6th, Vettel – 5th, Ricciardo – 4th.

Top 3: Verstappen – 3rd, Rosberg – 2nd and Hamilton – 1st.

Qualifying results

1.Hamilton  2.Rosberg  3.Verstappen  4.Ricciardo  5.Vettel  6.Raikkonen  7.Perez  8.Hulkenberg  9.Button  10.Massa  11.Bottas  12.Grosjean  13.Gutierrez  14.Magnussen  15.Kvyat  16.Sainz  17.Ericsson  18.Nasr  19.Palmer  20.Ocon  21.Wehrlein  22.Alonso*

Alonso* was originally given a 30 place grid penalty coming into this weekend but now that has increased to 45 grid places after Honda changes the turbocharger and MGU-H.

Qualifying battle

For the first time since he joined Manor in Belgium, Esteban Ocon finally managed to beat team-mate Pascal Wehrlein in 20th and 21st.

Daniil Kvyat also managed to beat team-mate Carlos Sainz to 15th place in what will be a confidence boost along with the points he scored in Singapore.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s