BTCC Finale at Brands Hatch GP

The British Touring Car Championship takes place today at Brands Hatch with 8 drivers still in contention to win the championship.


Sam Tordoff, Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Mat Jackson, Jason Plato, Rob Collard, Colin Turkington and Andrew Jordan are all still in contention to lift the championship today.

Race 1 – 16 laps

Colin Turkington wins from pole position ahead of Rob Austin and Josh Cook. Jason Plato lost out on a podium in the final corner as he was overtaken by Cook. Gordon Shedden finished 5th with Mat Neal 7th. Championship leader Sam Tordoff finished 10th with Mat Jackson 11th and Rob Collard 12th. Andrew Jordan failed to finish after a collision with Hunter Abbott at the start. Despite finishing 4th, Plato is mathematically out of the championship.

Championship standings

  1. Tordoff 284pts
  2. Shedden 278pts
  3. Neal 274pts
  4. Collard 265pts
  5. Turkington 264pts
  6. Jackson 262pts
  7. Jordan 247pts

Race 2 – 17 laps

The championship looks to be over for Matt Neal as he collides with Ash Sutton after losing power to his car on lap 4. Neal is out of the race with Colin Turkington leading. Coming into the final laps, Jason Plato hounds team-mate Turkington while Gordon Shedden catches behind. Turkington hangs on to win ahead of Plato and Shedden while Sam Tordoff finishes 5th. Mat Jackson finishes 7th with Rob Collard 10th and Andrew Jordan 13th.

From that race, we lose Jordan, Jackson, Collard and Neal from the championship.

Championship standings

  1. Tordoff 295pts
  2. Shedden 293pts
  3. Turkington 285pts

Race 3 – 18 laps

Matt Neal will not start the final race with Sam Tordoff starting 3rd, Gordon Shedden 5th and Colin Turkington 7th. Tordoff held position behind Aidan Moffat and Mat Jackson before Shedden was able to overtake. This put both Shedden and Tordoff on equal points, if it stayed like this it would come down to race wins and Shedden would win it. Shedden closes up on Moffat and Adam Morgan is able to overtake Tordoff for 4th. Morgan pressures Shedden but Shedden holds on for 3rd place and the championship!

Final Championship standings

  1. Gordon Shedden 308pts
  2. Sam Tordoff 306pts
  3. Mat Jackson 292pts
  4. Colin Turkington 289pts
  5. Rob Collard 278pts
  6. Matt Neal 275pts
  7. Jason Plato 256pts
  8. Andrew Jordan 255pts

Gordon Shedden, British Touring Car Champion 2016 with Halfords Yuasa Racing team!








Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s