American Qualifying Round 18

Lewis Hamilton takes pole position ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg and Red Bulls Daniel Ricciardo as Haas have a tough day on home soil.


Torro Rosso retain Kvyat for 2017

Red Bull have decided to retain Daniil Kvyat at their junior team Torro Rosso for 2017. Kvyat’s place at Torro Rosso had been in doubt after a loss in form this season following his demotion from Red Bull team in a swap with Max Verstappen. Torro Rosso’s decision leaves few teams without confirmed driver line-ups in Williams, Force India, Renault, Haas, Sauber and Haas.


Sergio Perez is the first driver on on track but its Pascal Wehrlein who sets the first lap time of the session of a 1:39:319. Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg are next with Hamilton quicker than Rosberg on a 1:36:296 and a 1:36:397. Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull follow next and are currently 3rd and 4th behind the two Mercedes. With 6 minutes to go, Esteban Gutierrez, Esteban Ocon, Wehrlein, Marcus Ericsson, Jenson Button and Felipe Nasr are in the drop zone.

On his final lap of the session, Jenson Button is slightly blocked behind a Manor car and the Renault car of Jolyon Palmer. Button’s lap puts him into 16th place for the moment. Felipe Nasr fails to put in a better lap time and is out but team-mate Marcus Ericsson is through to Q2. Esteban Gutierrez pushes Kevin Magnussen into the drop zone while Romain Grosjean, Pascal Wehrlein and Esteban Ocon also fail to make it through to the second stage of qualifying. Lewis Hamilton ends the session quickest ahead of Nico Rosberg and Max Verstappen.

Out: Ocon – 22nd, Nasr – 21st, Wehrlein – 20th, Button – 19th, Magnussen – 18th and Grosjean – 17th.


Nico Rosberg is the first driver out on track and is the first to set a lap time of a 1:36:351. Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo are next on a 1:36:450 and a 1:36:255. Rosberg, Hamilton and Max Verstappen are on the Soft tyre with Ricciardo on the Supersoft tyre. With 2 minutes to go, Carlos Sainz, Daniil Kvyat and Marcus Ericsson are in the drop zone along with Jolyon Palmer, Felipe Massa and Esteban Gutierrez who haven’t set a lap time yet.

In the final moments, Sergio Perez jumps Fernando Alonso but both are then jumped by  Carlos Sainz and Felipe Massa, pushing Perez and Alonso into the drop zone. Daniel Ricciardo ends the session quickest ahead of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton.

Out: Ericsson – 16th, Palmer – 15th, Gutierrez – 14th, Kvyat – 13th, Alonso – 12th and Perez – 11th.


With Romain Grosjean out in Q1 and Esteban Gutierrez out in Q2, there will be no driver for Haas in Q3 on home soil. Nico Rosberg is followed out of the pits by Lewis Hamilton out onto the track for the start of their first laps of the final session. Rosberg is first with a 1:35:442 with Hamilton quicker on a 1:35:370. With 3 minutes remaining in the session, the drivers head back out onto the track for their final laps.

Once again, Nico Rosberg is first to cross the line and he goes slightly quicker on a 1:35:215 but here comes Lewis Hamilton on a great lap. Hamilton breaks the 1 minute 35 seconds barrier and he is on pole position for tomorrow’s race on a 1:34:999. It’s Hamilton’s first pole position here in Austin.

Top 10: Sainz – 10th, Massa – 9th, Bottas – 8th, Hulkenberg – 7th, Vettel – 6th, Raikkonen – 5th, Verstappen – 4th.

Top 3: Ricciardo – 3rd, Rosberg – 2nd and Hamilton – 1st.

Qualifying results

1.Hamilton  2.Rosberg  3.Ricciardo  4.Verstappen  5.Raikkonen  6.Vettel  7.Hulkenberg  8.Bottas  9.Massa  10.Sainz  11.Perez  12.Alonso  13.Kvyat  14.Gutierrez  15.Palmer  16.Ericsson  17.Grosjean  18.Magnussen  19.Button  20.Wehrlein  21.Nasr  22.Ocon




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s