Mexican Race Round 19

Lewis Hamilton wins thrilling and controversial Mexican GP ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg and Red Bulls Daniel Ricciardo as Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel is given a 10 second time penalty after the race for his dangerous driving.


Grosjean to start from pit-lane

Haas’s Romain Grosjean is to start the race from the pit-lane as Haas have changed the floor on Grosjean’s car. This means that Grosjean will start from the pit-lane. Renault’s Jolyon Palmer was given permission by the stewards to start from 21st place on the grid.

Tyre choice

Felipe Nasr will be the only driver starting on the Medium tyre. Max Verstappen, Daniel Ricciardo, Valterri Bottas, Felipe Massa, Carlos Sainz and Jolyon Palmer will start on the Supersoft with everyone else on the Soft tyre.


The lights go green and away we go. Both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg get a identical start and Hamilton leads into turn 1. Hamilton lock-ups as they approach the braking point and he takes across the grass while Rosberg defends from Max Verstappen. Both go side-by-side into turn 1 with Rosberg having to take to the grass. Our of turn 3, Pascal Wehrlein and Marcus Ericsson clash and a replay shows that Esteban Gutierrez also played a part in the crash. On the main straight between turn 3 and 4, Carlos Sainz and Fernando Alonso are close to making contact as Sainz edges Alonso onto the grass. Alonso manages to save the car. Wehrlein is out and the Virtual Safety Car is deployed.

At the end of the first lap, Daniel Ricciardo, Jolyon Palmer and Marcus Ericsson pit for a change of tyres as all three of them change to the Medium tyre. The incident between Nico Rosberg and Max Verstappen is under investigation. Lap 4, the Virtual Safety Car ends with Lewis Hamilton leading ahead of Nico Rosberg, Max Verstappen, Nico Hulkenberg and Kimi Raikkonen as Ricciardo is now 16th after his first pit-stop. Lap 8, the Stewards declare that no further action will take place between Rosberg and Verstappen at the start of the race.

Lap 9, Daniel Ricciardo overtakes Jenson Button into turn 1 and is up into 13th place. Lap 12, Max Verstappen is now dropping back from Nico Rosberg in 3rd place on the Supersoft tyre and he makes his first pit-stop on the next lap, switching to the Medium tyre. Lap 15, Nico Hulkenberg and Felipe Massa pit, putting the Medium tyre on as Carlos Sainz is given a 5 second time penalty for forcing Fernando Alonso off the track. Lap 18, Lewis Hamilton pits and goes onto the Medium tyre, he rejoins back out in 4th. Lap 21, Nico Rosberg and Kimi Raikkonen pit also going over to the Medium tyre. Rosberg appears back out in 3rd in front of Ricciardo and Verstappen.

Lap 27, Daniel Ricciardo lets Max Verstappen through into 4th place just before turn 4. Lap 33, Sebastian Vettel finally pits for the second time of asking and he goes onto the Medium tyre. Lap 35, Vettel’s pit-stop promotes Lewis Hamilton back into the lead of the race, just 4.2 seconds ahead of Nico Rosberg in 2nd place. Lap 40, home-favourites, Sergio Perez and Esteban Gutierrez are sitting in 10th and 19th place. Lap 46, Kimi Raikkonen pits going onto another set of the Medium tyre. Lap 49, Hamilton, Rosberg and Verstappen are dealing with traffic and this has helped Verstappen as he is only 1 second behind Rosberg in 2nd.

Lap 50, Max Verstappen locks-up into turn 4 trying to overtake Nico Rosberg for 2nd place. The late move doesn’t pay off for Verstappen as Rosberg finds a way back past. Lap 51, Daniel Ricciardo pits and goes onto the Soft tyre till the end of the race. Ricciardo appears back out in 7th place ahead of Kimi Raikkonen. Lap 52, Ricciardo overtakes Nico Hulkenberg into turn 1 and up into turn 5. Lap 56, Daniil Kvyat has been given a 5 second time penalty for gaining an advantage by going off the track. Lap 61, Jenson Button overtakes Jolyon Palmer into turn 1 and he is up into 12th place.

Lap 66, Max Verstappen is just 1.2 seconds ahead of Sebastian Vettel, battling over the final podium spot. Lap 68, Kimi Raikkonen overtakes Nico Hulkenberg into turn 4. With Hulkenberg on the inside line to the corner, Raikkonen goes round the outside and Hulkenberg spins. Hulkenberg rejoins only causing a yellow flag.

Lap 68, Sebastian Vettel is now challenging Max Verstappen into turn 1 but Verstappen locks-up and doesn’t make the corner. Vettel isn’t happy and wants Verstappen to give Vettel the place. Lap 70, Daniel Ricciardo in 4th place has now caught up to the back of Vettel, who his being held up by Verstappen. Ricciardo gets a good run out of turn 3 and challenges Vettel into the braking zone for turn 4. Ricciardo has the inside with Vettel maintaining the outside. Ricciardo locks-up and both Vettel and himself bang tyres. Vettel has the inside for turn 5 and keeps 4th place. Vettel isn’t happy about Verstappen’s driving and vents his frustration on the team radio. It includes swearing about Verstappen’s driving and makes a point to the FIA and Charlie Whiting about his driving. Lewis Hamilton wins ahead of Nico Rosberg and Max Verstappen.

Podium confusion

In the cool-down room, Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg and Max Verstappen are preparing to go out onto the podium as the FIA announce that Verstappen has a 5 second penalty. The penalty is for the incident on lap 68 when Verstappen locked up into turn 1 and gained an advantage over Sebastian Vettel.

Verstappen is informed of this and the camera switches to Vettel and his Ferrari team running to the podium as Vettel was less than 5 seconds behind Verstappen when they crossed the finishing line. Vettel makes it to the podium with Verstappen being demoted to 5th place behind Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo.

Race result

1.Hamilton  2.Rosberg  3.Ricciardo  4.Verstappen  5.Vettel*  6.Raikkonen  7.Hulkenberg  8.Bottas  9.Massa  10.Perez  11.Ericsson  12.Button  13.Alonso  14.Palmer  15.Nasr  16.Sainz*  17.Magnussen  18.Kvyat*  19.Gutierrez  20.Grosjean  21.Ocon  DNF Wehrlein

Vettel* was given a 10 second penalty after the podium celebrations for driving “dangerously or erratically” while defending from Ricciardo. This promoted Ricciardo and Verstappen to 3rd and 4th.

Sainz* & Kvyat* were both given each a penalty point on the lincense for their separate incidents.

Race stats

  • Lewis Hamilton’s win today put him joint with Alain Prost on all time wins with both on 51 wins each.
  • Nico Rosberg’s 2nd place today was his 55th career podium.
  • With both Hamilton and Rosberg on the podium, it gave Mercedes its 17th win in 19 races.

Drivers Championship

  1. Nico Rosberg 349pts
  2. Lewis Hamilton 330pts
  3. Daniel Ricciardo 242pts
  4. Sebastian Vettel 187pts
  5. Kimi Raikkonen 178pts
  6. Max Verstappen 177pts
  7. Sergio Perez 85pts
  8. Valterri Bottas 85pts
  9. Nico Hulkenberg 60pts
  10. Fernando Alonso 52pts

Constructors Championship

  1. Mercedes 679pts
  2. Red Bull 427pts
  3. Ferrari 365pts
  4. Force India 145pts
  5. Williams 136pts
  6. McLaren 74pts
  7. Torro Rosso 55pts
  8. Haas 29pts
  9. Renault 7ptrs
  10. Manor 1pt
  11. Sauber 0pts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s