Hamilton wins and slashes Vettel’s advantage

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton wins the British GP for the 5th time ahead of teammate Valterri Bottas and Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen as both Ferrari’s suffer front-left punctures in the final laps.


Tyre choice

Valterri Bottas, Felipe Massa, Lance Stroll, Kevin Magnussen, Pascal Wehrlein and Marcus Ericsson will start on the Soft tyre with everyone else starting on the Supersoft tyre.


There’s more disappointment for Jolyon Palmer on the formation lap as the Brit stops on the Hanger straight before turn 15 with hydraulic issues. An extra formation lap is needed. The Drivers line-up on the grid and there is smoke coming from the rear brakes of Sebastian Vettel. The lights go out and Lewis Hamilton leads ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and now Max Verstappen who overtakes Vettel round the outside of turn 5 for 3rd.

There’s a driver off at turn 13. It’s Carlos Sainz. The Toro Rosso driver is out with teammate Daniil Kvyat looks to be involved with the incident. The Safety Car is called out at the end of lap 1. Kvyat is involved, both drivers ran side-by-side and contact was made. The Stewards are looking into the incident. Felipe Massa and Lance Stroll had a tough qualifying but both have made their way to 10th and 12th. Lap 5, the Safety Car comes in and racing continues with Valterri Bottas overtaking Esteban Ocon into turn 15 and up into 6th.

Lap 7, Valterri Bottas now overtakes Nico Hulkenberg for 5th into turn 15. Lap 10, Lewis Hamilton leads by 2.5 seconds to Kimi Raikkonen in 2nd who has a 4.6 second gap to Max Verstappen in 3rd. Daniil Kvyat has been given a drive-through penalty for rejoining the track unsafely. Lap 12, Daniel Ricciardo overtakes Fernando Alonso for 13th into turn 15. Lap 13, Verstappen holds off an attack from Sebastian Vettel through turns 15 to 17. Lap 19, Vettel pits from 4th, he goes onto the Soft tyre and rejoins in 6th. Lap 20, Red Bull react and Verstappen pits going onto the Soft tyre and rejoining behind Vettel. Lap 21, Hamilton sets the fastest lap of the race of a 1:132:286 with Esteban Ocon and Fernando Alonso both pitting and going onto the Soft tyre.

Lap 24, Sergio Perez and Romain Grosjean pit. Both go onto the Soft tyre. Lap 25, Kimi Raikkonen pits, going onto the Soft tyre and rejoining in 3rd. Lap 26, Lewis Hamilton pits from the lead onto the Soft tyre and rejoining in 1st. Lap 27, Raikkonen sets the fastest lap of a 1:31:903 as Stoffel Vandoorne pits for the Soft tyre, rejoining in 13th. Lap 32, Valterri Bottas pits, going onto the Supersoft tyre and rejoining in 4th from 2nd. Daniel Ricciardo also pits going onto the Soft tyre and rejoining in 9th. Fernando Alonso is reporting a loss of power, his race is over.

Lap 35, Daniel Ricciardo overtakes Sergio Perez into turn 6 and then Esteban Ocon into turn 15. Ricciardo is on a charge as he then overtakes Kevin Magnussen, who hasn’t stopped yet for 7th into turn 9. Lap 43, Valterri Bottas has caught up to Sebastian Vettel and has now overtaken the German into turn 15 and up into 3rd. Lap 44, Ricciardo now has Nico Hulkenberg in his sights as the gap is rapidly decreasing now down to 5.6 seconds. Lap 49, Kimi Raikkonen has a puncture! His front-left tyre has gone, Bottas jumps into 2nd. Ferrari pit Raikkonen with Red Bull also pitting Max Verstappen as a precaution. Disaster strikes again for Ferrari on lap 50 as Vettel now has a front-left puncture.

The Championship leader makes to back to the pits and rejoins in 7th. Lewis Hamilton wins the British GP ahead of Mercedes teammate Valterri Bottas and Kimi Raikkonen. Daniel Ricciardo finishes 5th after starting 19th and is rewarded Driver of the Day by the fans of the sport. Lewis Hamilton also took the award for the fastest lap of a 1:30:621 on lap 48.

Race Result

1.Hamilton  2.Bottas  3.Raikkonen  4.Verstappen  5.Ricciardo  6.Hulkenberg  7.Vettel  8.Ocon  9.Perez  10.Massa  11.Vandoorne  12.Magnussen  13.Grosjean  14.Ericsson  15.Kvyat  16.Stroll  17.Wehrlein  DNF Alonso, Sainz and Palmer

Drivers Championship

  1. Sebastian Vettel 177pts
  2. Lewis Hamilton 176pts
  3. Valterri Bottas 154pts
  4. Daniel Ricciardo 117pts
  5. Kimi Raikkonen 98pts
  6. Max Verstappen 57pts
  7. Sergio Perez 52pts
  8. Esteban Ocon 43pts
  9. Carlos Sainz 29pts
  10. Nico Hulkenberg 26pts

Constructors Championship

  1. Mercedes 330pts
  2. Ferrari 275pts
  3. Red Bull 174pts
  4. Force India 95pts
  5. Williams 41pts
  6. Toro Rosso 33pts
  7. Haas 29pts
  8. Renault 26pts
  9. Sauber 5pts
  10. McLaren 2pts



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s